EROSGAIA – Why it never happened

‘Ello chaps, and chappettes!

The reason this post is even here, is because I want to go over something that’s been chewing on my knee for quite some time now: “Why I only did one page of Erosgaia, then pretty much said ‘Eff it’.”

So WHY did I just stop Erosgaia, when it’s introduction wasn’t even completed? Well the answer isn’t exactly all that simple, to be honest. It wasn’t a matter of just not having the time, what with me having to finish up Fyur Ball/Lame Game issue one. Or was it that Samantha Gunner needed to be started. Those certainly factored into why it didn’t happen, but there was something else…

I just felt it was too serious for me.

To support this, let me go over the story, and characters.

Eros Gaia.

Age: ??

Sex: Male

Species: Demi-God

Behold, my half-ass’d attempt at streets.

Originally, a statue on top of a tower owned by a long generation of Gunners. (Yes, THOSE Gunners) Becomes a actual person, when Lisa Gunner, takes her anger out on the statue, after a depressing week of being chased by the Dakri military because of her bloodline. As she watches the statue she used to tell all of her stories to, when she was younger, crumble before her eyes due to her own rage. The rock turns to black goo, morphs into one puddle, and shifts into a human-like figure. Eros Gaia is all he can remember, and thus is named that by her. The adventures they have afterwards involves teaching Eros about modern life, as he slowly regains his memories, which, sometimes can be thousands of years old. This was supposed to be my poor attempt at a humorous love story, as they would grow slowly together.

Lisa Gunner.

Age: 29

Sex: Female

Species: Guhn’har

Look at all them triangles!

Born, and raised as a Gunner. Lisa learned all of the rules of her blood, and obeyed them as such. Often depressed that she couldn’t keep a boyfriend very long, due to the rules of her family. She goes out on a rampage, and is then chased by the Dakri military for a whole week. When she arrives back at the Gunner tower, to lay low. She watches the city, whilst tending to her wounds. Inside she thinks of everything that’s wrong with her bloodline’s rules, the military, the four tribes, everything. She unleashes her anger on the statue beside her. Thus giving birth to Eros Gaia. Lisa tries to kill Eros many times, but because of his species, he cannot be killed unless he wishes it.

This comic idea would have basically no end, as Eros cannot die. And Lisa has so much to teach, this was going to be somewhat of a gag-strip-a-day comic. I did not do it, because:

1 – I am not funny.

2 – It does not fit in, with the Gunner story: Because of this, and the fact that in Freya, there is no such thing as a Gunner tower. Nor is there any sort of Demi-God, this just didn’t fit in. Also, after Samantha’s story, this wouldn’t fit in AT ALL. (Not giving spoilers)

3 – Way too serious: Like, just look at it. A mortal that falls in love with a person that can’t die. Not only is that far too “Twilight-esque” for me to touch with a ten foot pole, but that’s way too depressing for me to write jokes for. That, and I doubt I’d want to continue the story anyways, once I get a few pages in.

4 – Morals weren’t in the right place: I base each story off of a moral, and build around it. Eros is the god of love (Citation needed), Gaia means Earth. Basically, the title means “Love Earth”, this would make it so the story would be based off a giant-ass metaphor. Not exactly anything to learn from, just, something you should know by now. Love Earth.

Either way, Erosgaia will not happen. I don’t think it’ll ever happen, I’d love for someone to pick it up as their own. But I don’t see very much potential in it, it’s just way too serious, and that alone would destroy the concept of it being funny.

WELP, that’s it. Now I can go back to working on Samantha Gunner, and not worry about this devil trying to guide me into doing this horrible, horrible idea. (Also, did you notice Lisa is wearing Samantha’s jacket? Lil’ easteregg for ya)

Leave a Reply

